People

  • faculty

  • Yulia Frumer

    Bo Jung and Soon Young Kim Professorship of East Asian Science, Associate Professor

    PhD, Princeton University
    • yfrumer@jhu.edu
    • Gilman 380
    • 410-516-7507
    • Research Interests: Science and technology in East Asia, especially Japan; science and technology transfer; scientific translation; measurement instruments; humanoid robotics; science fiction.
  • Lijing Jiang

    Assistant Professor

    PhD, Arizona State University
    • ljiang@jhu.edu
    • Gilman 367
    • 410-516-7505
    • Research Interests: Historian of Modern Biology and Biomedicine
  • Robert Kargon

    Research Professor

    PhD, Cornell University
    • kargon@jhu.edu
    • Gilman 378
    • 410-516-7504
    • Research Interests: History of the physical sciences; science and social change; history of science and technology in America
  • Joris Mercelis

    Assistant Professor

    PhD, Ghent University
    • jmercelis@jhu.edu
    • Gilman 382
    • 410-516-4485
    • Research Interests: history of modern technology and business, especially in the field of chemistry; science-industry relations; knowledge sharing and intellectual property; academic entrepreneurship.
  • Lawrence M. Principe

    Drew Professor of the Humanities; Director, Singleton Center for the Study of Premodern Europe

    PhD, History of Science, Johns Hopkins University; PhD, Organic Chemistry, Indiana University
    • lmafp@jhu.edu
    • Gilman 376
    • 410-516-4807
    • Research Interests: Early modern and late medieval science and technology, especially the history of alchemy/chemistry and issues of science and theology/religion
  • joint faculty

  • Nathaniel Comfort

    Professor in the Department of the History of Medicine

    • comfort@jhmi.edu
    • 443-287-6146
    • Research Interests: History of biology, especially genetics, molecular biology, and biomedicine; history of recent science; oral history.
  • Mary E. Fissell

    Professor in the Department of the History of Medicine

    • mfissell@jhmi.edu
    • 410-614-0286
    • Research Interests:  European health care and popular medicine, 17th-18th centuries; early modern gender and the body; co-editor of the Bulletin of the History of Medicine.
  • Jeremy A. Greene

    Professor, E. Treide and A. McGehee Harvey Chair in the Department of the History of Medicine

    • greene@jhmi.edu
    • 410-955-4899
    • Research Interests: Twentieth-century clinical medicine; therapeutics; pharmaceuticals; global health; history of disease
  • Graham Mooney

    Assistant Professor in the Department of the History of Medicine and the Bloomberg School of Public Health

    • gmooney3@jhmi.edu
    • 443-287-6147
    • Research Interests: History of public health, 19th-20th centuries; infectious disease surveillance and control; historical geographies of health and medicine; historical epidemiology and demography; Co-editor of Social History of Medicine
  • Elizabeth O’Brien

    Assistant Professor in the Department of the History of Medicine

  • Gianna Pomata

    Professor Emerita in the Department of the History of Medicine.

    • gpomata1@jhmi.edu
    • Research Interests: Cultural and social history of early modern European medicine; women’s and gender history; history of cognitive practices, categories and genres.
  • Daniel P. Todes

    Professor Emeritus in the Department of the History of Medicine

    • dtodes@jhmi.edu
    • 410-955-7079
    • Research Interests: Social relations of scientific thought; history of biomedical and biological sciences; history of medicine and science in Russia
  • professor emeriti

  • Sharon Kingsland

    Emerita Professor

    PhD, 1981, University of Toronto
  • Stuart W. Leslie

    Professor - Retired

    PhD, University of Delaware
    • swleslie@jhu.edu
    • Gilman 361
    • 410-516-7738
    • Research Interests: History of technology; history of science-based industry; regional economic geography; science and architecture
  • María M. Portuondo

    Professor - Retired

    PhD, Johns Hopkins University
    • mportuondo@jhu.edu
    • Gilman 374
    • 410-516-7503
    • Research Interests: Early modern cosmography; astronomy and natural history; early modern natural philosophy; science and technology in Spain and Latin America
  • staff

  • Timothy Giglitto

    Senior IT Specialist

  • Danielle Stout

    Department Administrator

  • fellows & visiting faculty

  • Susan Morris

    Fellow-by-Courtesy

  • Sorry, No Results Found

    Try changing your search terms