History of Science and Technology

People

  • faculty

  • Frumer

    Yulia Frumer

    Assistant Professor
    PhD, Princeton University

    410-516-7507 yfrumer@jhu.edu Gilman 380

    Research Interests: History of science and technology in East Asia, especially in Japan; history of astronomy, measurement instruments, and scientific translation

  • Kargon

    Robert Kargon

    Willis K. Shepard Professor of the History of Science
    PhD, Cornell University

    410-516-7504 kargon@jhu.edu Gilman 378

    Research Interests: History of the physical sciences; science and social change; history of science and technology in America

  • Kingsland

    Sharon Kingsland

    Department Chair
    PhD, University of Toronto

    410-516-7505 Sharon@jhu.edu Gilman 382

    Research Interests: History of modern biology, especially ecology, genetics, physiology, and behavioral biology; science in America; environmental sciences; urban ecology

  • Leslie

    Stuart W. Leslie

    Professor
    PhD, University of Delaware

    410-516-7738 swleslie@jhu.edu Gilman 361

    Research Interests: History of technology; history of science-based industry; regional economic geography; science and architecture

  • Portuondo

    María M. Portuondo

    Associate Professor
    PhD, Johns Hopkins University

    410-516-7503 mportuondo@jhu.edu Gilman 374

    Research Interests: Early modern cosmography; astronomy and natural history; early modern natural philosophy; science and technology in Spain and Latin America

  • Principe

    Lawrence M. Principe

    Drew Professor of the Humanities; Director, Singleton Center for the Study of Premodern Europe
    PhD, History of Science, Johns Hopkins University; PhD, Organic Chemistry, Indiana University

    410-516-4807 lmafp@jhu.edu Gilman 376

    Research Interests: Early modern and late medieval science and technology, especially the history of alchemy/chemistry and issues of science and theology/religion

 

Joint Faculty

Gert H. Brieger
Professor Emeritus in the Department of the History of Medicine.  History of surgery, history of medical education.
KandGBrieger@comcast.net
410-955-4877

Nathaniel Comfort
Professor in the Department of the History of Medicine.  History of biology, especially genetics, molecular biology, and biomedicine;
history of recent science; oral history.
comfort@jhmi.edu
443-287-6146

Mary E. Fissell
Professor in the Department of the History of Medicine. European health care and popular medicine, 17th-18th centuries;
early modern gender and the body; co-editor of the Bulletin of the History of Medicine.
mfissell@jhmi.edu
410-614-0286

Jeremy A. Greene
Associate Professor, E. Treide and A. McGehee Harvey Chair in the Department of the History of Medicine.  Twentieth-century clinical medicine;
therapeutics; pharmaceuticals; global health; history of disease.
greene@jhmi.edu
410-955-4899

Marta Hanson
Associate Professor in the Department of the History of Medicine.  Medicine, disease and public health; early modern astrology
and arts of memory in Chinese history.
mhanson4@jhmi.edu
410-955-4879

Graham Mooney
Assistant Professor in the Department of the History of Medicine and the Bloomberg School of Public Health. History of public health,
19th-20th centuries; infectious disease surveillance and control; historical geographies of health and medicine; historical epidemiology and demography;
Co-editor of Social History of Medicine.
gmooney3@jhmi.edu
443-287-6147

Randall M. Packard
Director and William H. Welch Professor in the Department of the History of Medicine.  Social history of disease; health and healing in Africa;
history of public health; history of colonial and post-colonial medicine; co-editor of the Bulletin of the History of Medicine.
rpackar2@jhmi.edu
410-955-3178

Gianna Pomata
Professor in the Department of the History of Medicine.  Cultural and social history of early modern European medicine;
women’s and gender history; history of cognitive practices, categories and genres.
gpomata1@jhmi.edu
410-955-3037

Christine Ruggere
Lecturer; Associate Director, Institute of the History of Medicine; Curator, Historical Collection

Daniel P. Todes
Professor in the Department of the History of Medicine.  Social relations of scientific thought; history of biomedical and biological sciences;
history of medicine and science in Russia.
dtodes@jhmi.edu
410-955-7079

Fellows & Visiting Faculty

Joan Lisa Bromberg
Visiting Scholar
joanlisa@jhu.edu

Jae-Yong Han
Visiting Scholar
koinhjy@naver.com

Dong-Won Kim
Visiting Professor
dkim3@yahoo.com

Morris Low
Adjunct Associate Professor
m.low@uq.edu.au
61-7-3365-6935

Bong-Yong Park
Visiting Scholar
sixman70@hotmail.com

Buhm Soon Park
Visiting Scholar
buhmsoonpark@yahoo.com
410-337-2879

Elizabeth Rodini
Director of the Program in Museums and Society
erodini@jhu.edu
410-516-4827

Michael Dennis
Fellow-by-Courtesy
madennis@comcast.net
202-452-1280

Susan Morris
Fellow-by-Courtesy
s.morris@jhu.edu
410-516-6057

Staff

Danielle Stout
Department Administrator
danielle@jhu.edu
410-516-7501

Timothy Giglitto
Senior IT Specialist
timothy@jhu.edu
410-516-7501